Group14 Raises $169M Series D Extension for Spain Plant

    TL;DR: Group14 Technologies, the Woodinville, Washington maker of silicon battery material, closed a Series D extension of €150 million, about $169 million, to build a plant in Sagunto, Spain. For ac…

    ·5 min read
    Reviewed by Jeff Barnes — CEO of Angel Investors Network · MBA · $1B+ in Capital Formation
    Rendering of a modern, glowing battery material factory complex seen from above, set between Mediterranean hills and the sea in eastern Spain.
    TL;DR: Group14 Technologies, the Woodinville, Washington maker of silicon battery material, closed a Series D extension of €150 million, about $169 million, to build a plant in Sagunto, Spain. For accredited investors, the round is a signal about battery supply chains, but no source reviewed names the new investor or a valuation.

    What did Group14 announce?

    Group14 is raising money to build a factory in Spain. The company closed a €150 million Series D extension, according to Group14's own press release, and Crunchbase News put the same round at $169 million in its weekly top 10 list of U.S. funding rounds.

    The money is tied to a specific building. Mercom Capital Group says the planned facility, designated BAM-4, will make the company's SCC55 silicon battery material and give Group14 a production base in Europe.

    What will the money build?

    The Sagunto plant starts small and sits inside a larger plan. Group14 says it picked Sagunto, Spain, for a manufacturing module with an initial 10 GWh of capacity, and that BAM-4 lifts its total near-term footprint to 40 GWh.

    Most of that footprint is not running yet. The table below uses the company's own figures.

    SiteLocationCapacityStatus per Group14
    BAM-3Sangju, Korea10 GWhOperational and scaling
    BAM-2Moses Lake, Washington20 GWhTwo modules, expected to start producing in 2027
    BAM-4Sagunto, Spain10 GWh initialPlanned

    Only one of the four capacity blocks is producing today. The rest depends on construction and commissioning going to plan, and Pomegra says Group14 has not published a construction timeline for Sagunto.

    How does this fit the earlier Series D?

    This is an extension, not a new round. In August 2025, Group14 announced a $463 million Series D led by SK, Inc., with participation from existing investors including Porsche Investments, ATL, OMERS, Decarbonization Partners, Lightrock Climate Impact Fund and Microsoft Climate Innovation Fund. The company also took full ownership of its South Korean joint venture in that deal.

    An extension usually means the company wants more capital on the same terms and structure as the original round. The terms aren't reported, so that part is an inference.

    What is still unknown?

    Pomegra reports that the new money came from a single investor the company has not named, and that Group14 did not disclose a valuation for this tranche. No source reviewed gives a revenue figure. Without those three items, an outside reader cannot judge whether €150 million is a high price for growth or a modest one.

    Group14 says it has delivered SCC55 to more than 150 customers from its pilot facility. That is the company's own claim. It says nothing about order size or how much of the new capacity is already contracted.

    What does this mean for an accredited investor?

    The round is not an opportunity you can act on. Nothing in the reports describes an allocation for outside investors, and rounds at this stage and size are typically placed with existing backers and institutions. Treat it as information about where large private capital is going.

    What it does show is that investors are paying for physical manufacturing capacity in battery materials, not only software. Factories are slow. They take years to build, and the payoff depends on automakers and device makers buying what the plant produces. Downside first: a plant that is late or half-empty hurts every fund that owns a piece of it.

    If you are newly accredited, you are most likely to meet this kind of exposure through a climate fund or a platform secondary rather than a direct round. Ask the manager how much of the portfolio depends on plants that are not yet producing.

    For broader context on how large rounds distort venture totals, see Q1 2026 venture funding and the two deals that change the story and what pre-seed to Series C rounds look like in specific numbers. A recent example of heavy capital going into physical-world companies is CarbonSix's $40M Series A.

    Common mistakes when reading a funding headline

    Treating the dollar figure as a valuation signal is the most common one. A $169 million raise says how much came in, not what the company is worth, and Group14 did not disclose a valuation for this tranche.

    Currency trips people up too. The round was announced in euros, so the dollar figure is an approximation that moves with the exchange rate.

    The costliest habit is reading planned capacity as installed capacity. Gigawatt-hours at a plant that has not been built describe intent, and a fund that prices them as output is guessing.

    FAQ

    How much did Group14 raise?

    Group14 closed a €150 million Series D extension, about $169 million, according to its own press release and Crunchbase News. The company's earlier Series D round, announced in August 2025, was $463 million.

    Who invested in the Group14 extension?

    The sources reviewed do not name the investor in this extension. The earlier Series D was led by SK, Inc., with existing investors including Porsche Investments and Microsoft Climate Innovation Fund participating.

    What will Group14 build with the money?

    A plant in Sagunto, Spain, designated BAM-4, with an initial 10 GWh of capacity for its SCC55 silicon battery material. It is the company's first announced production site in Europe.

    Can individual investors buy into Group14?

    No source reviewed describes any route for outside investors. Group14 is a private company, and access would depend on a fund, platform or syndicate announcing an allocation.

    What to do today

    When the next funding headline lands, look for who led, at what valuation and on what revenue, and write down whatever the announcement leaves out. The free AIN briefing sends news like this with those gaps named, so sign up for it and read the next one that way.

    Educational content only. Not investment, tax, or legal advice. Not an offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities. Past performance does not guarantee future results. Private-market investments are illiquid and involve risk of loss, including total loss of capital. Consult qualified advisers. Angel Investors Network is not a broker-dealer or investment adviser.

    Looking for investors?

    Browse our directory of 750+ angel investor groups, VCs, and accelerators across the United States.

    Share
    J

    About the Author

    Jeff Barnes, MBA