Fintor Review 2026: What Happened to the Fractional Real Estate App
TL;DR: Fintor raised $33.7M and built a fractional real estate app that let investors buy shares of individual rental homes for as little as $5, but its legal entity Fintor Assets, LLC filed a formal

Key Takeaways
- Fintor operated under Regulation A, Tier 2, making the platform technically accessible to non-accredited investors up to 10% of their annual income or net worth, but the company withdrew that SEC offering on December 1, 2023, ending new investor access.
- The offering circular disclosed a 1% annual asset management fee on capital contributions per series, a 1% brokerage commission to Dalmore Group on primary purchases, and an operating reserve of up to 5% of gross proceeds per series covering property management, asset management, and maintenance costs.
- Secondary trading ran through Templum Markets LLC, an SEC-registered Alternative Trading System, but Fintor's own offering documents warned that an active secondary market might never develop.
- No completed property exits, no published AUM, and no Form 1-K annual reports appear in Fintor Assets, LLC's SEC filing history, leaving investors with almost no public record to evaluate actual returns.
What Fintor Promised
Fintor launched in 2021 with a clear consumer pitch: owning a piece of a rental home should be as simple as buying a share of stock. The app let you browse individual properties, tap to buy fractional shares, collect monthly distributions from rental income, and trade those shares on a secondary market. The minimum entry point the company advertised was $5, putting single-family real estate within reach of investors who had never had a realistic path to property ownership.
The company attracted real venture capital. A $6.2M seed round in October 2022 valued the company at $80M, with TechCrunch reporting co-founders Farshad Yousefi and Masoud Jalali's goal of opening residential real estate to the segment of Americans who had been effectively priced out of property investment. Total disclosed funding reached $33.7M across four rounds, including a $25M debt facility that arrived before the seed. That funding level suggested a serious effort, not a side project.
The app itself appeared in both the Apple App Store and Google Play. As of this writing, the iOS version carries a 4.3-star rating on the App Store. The product was real, functional, and had genuine users. What the marketing materials could not disclose is that the platform's life as a public real estate securities offering would be measured in months rather than years.
How the Securities Structure Actually Worked
The legal entity behind the fractional shares is Fintor Assets, LLC (SEC CIK 0001874978), a Delaware series limited liability company formed March 15, 2021. Fintor Inc., the operating company co-founded by Yousefi and Jalali, serves as the manager of that LLC. Each individual rental property sits inside its own "series" of Fintor Assets, LLC: Series #SWEET, Series #BEGIN, Series #LEARN, Series #GRAVY, and Series #IYKYK are the five named in the September 2022 offering circular. When you purchased shares, you acquired fractional membership interests in one specific series, not in Fintor Inc. and not in a diversified pool of properties.
The offering structure was Regulation A, Tier 2, the securities exemption that allows companies to raise up to $75M per year from both accredited and non-accredited investors. Non-accredited investors face a per-offering cap: you cannot put more than 10% of the greater of your annual income or net worth into a Reg A deal. Accredited investors face no such limit. This framework explains why Fintor could advertise to retail investors without requiring them to certify income or assets above the SEC's accreditation thresholds of $200,000 annual income or $1M net worth.
Primary offerings processed through Dalmore Group, LLC, a FINRA/SIPC-registered broker-dealer. Secondary trading was handled by Templum Markets LLC, also FINRA/SIPC registered and operating as an SEC-registered Alternative Trading System (ATS). In April 2025, Fintor and Templum released a formal partnership announcement, with CEO Yousefi describing the need for technology to support "Regulation A+ issuers like ourselves" and enable "continuous trading." That announcement came more than a year after the Reg A offering had already been withdrawn.
Fees: What the SEC Filing Disclosed
Three layers of fees applied to investors in Fintor's primary offerings, based on the September 2022 SEC offering circular for Fintor Assets, LLC. First, a 1% brokerage commission went to Dalmore Group on each primary purchase. That cost applies at entry, before any property income or appreciation. Second, an asset management fee of 1.0% of actual capital contributions applied annually to each series. Third, the operating and capital reserve could absorb up to 5% of gross offering proceeds per series to cover ongoing costs, including the property management fee, asset management fee, and routine maintenance. The property management fee itself, paid to an outside property manager, is a separate line item from the asset management fee. The specific percentage charged was not standardized across series in the available filings.
Put plainly, an investor entering a primary offering paid at least 1% immediately on purchase, then faced a recurring 1% annual asset management charge plus an unspecified property management cost. The all-in annual cost to hold a series interest is higher than the asset management fee alone but cannot be precisely calculated from public filings.
Peers in the same Reg A fractional real estate space publish cleaner numbers. Arrived charges a 1% sourcing fee at acquisition and approximately 0.15% quarterly on AUM (0.6% annualized), per its public disclosures. Ark7 charges 8% of monthly rental revenue, a structure that scales with rent collected rather than capital deployed. The table below compares key terms side by side. Peer figures come from each platform's published fee schedules and should be verified directly before any investment decision.
| Platform | Regulatory structure | Minimum investment | Annual fee (approx.) | Secondary market | Completed exits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fintor | Reg A Tier 2 (withdrawn Dec 2023) | $5 (1 share) | 1% AUM + undisclosed property mgmt % | Templum ATS (liquidity unverified) | None disclosed |
| Arrived | Reg A Tier 2 (active) | $100 | ~0.6% annual AUM + 1% sourcing | Arrived Secondary (limited windows) | Multiple reported |
| Ark7 | Reg A Tier 2 (active) | ~$20/share | 8% of monthly rent | Ark7 Secondary Market | Multiple reported |
Liquidity and the Secondary Market Reality
Fintor's marketing leaned hard on the liquidity angle. The tagline that you could "trade real estate like stock and crypto 24/7" appeared across the app description on both major app stores. The technical infrastructure existed: Templum Markets LLC operates a registered ATS, which is the private-market equivalent of a stock exchange, allowing buyers and sellers to transact in securities that are not listed on a public exchange. Fintor's own offering circular, however, was candid about what that infrastructure does not guarantee: "There is currently no trading market for our Interests. An active market in which investors can resell their Interests may not develop."
The offering circular went further, stating that investors might never be able to exit their positions and that trades would occur only within designated "Trading Windows." Whether any Fintor series interest has been successfully traded on Templum's ATS since the December 2023 offering withdrawal is not reported in any press release, SEC filing, or independent coverage located during research for this article. Investors who bought into Fintor series and now want to exit are attempting to sell in a market whose activity is entirely undisclosed.
The December 2023 Withdrawal: What the SEC Record Shows
The single most important data point in evaluating Fintor is the Form 1-A-W filing. On December 1, 2023, Fintor Assets, LLC submitted a two-kilobyte document to the SEC formally withdrawing its Regulation A offering statement (File No. 024-11917). That document contains no explanation of why the offering closed, no information about how many investors participated, and no discussion of what happens to series interest holders next.
The filing history also lacks a Form 1-K, the annual report that Regulation A issuers who complete securities sales to the public are required to file each year. Fintor Assets, LLC's EDGAR history shows exactly four documents: the initial Form 1-A (filed June 21, 2022), one amendment (Form 1-A/A, filed July 7, 2022), a post-qualification amendment (Form 1-A POS, filed August 16, 2022), and the withdrawal. No 1-K appears. This absence is consistent with either a finding that no investor sales were completed (which would eliminate the annual reporting obligation) or a compliance gap. Neither possibility is reassuring.
Track Record: Small Raises, No Exits, and a Pivot
The five property series in the September 2022 offering circular targeted a combined maximum raise of approximately $1.06M across five single-family homes. Series #SWEET targeted a maximum of $394,875. Series #IYKYK, priced at $44.15 per share, targeted a maximum of $176,600. These are small numbers for a company that raised $33.7M in venture and debt capital and spoke of scaling to "millions of individuals." Whether those maximum raises were actually reached is not disclosed in any public filing reviewed here.
By February 2026, Fintor's corporate LinkedIn page had abandoned real estate investing as its message. Posts from that period describe "autonomous end-to-end mortgage processing" and an "AI agent team" for lenders. Monthly website traffic as reported by third-party data aggregators sits near 1,282 visitors, down roughly 40% month over month from March 2026. The company employed approximately four people as of mid-2026. Annual revenue stood at approximately $1M according to aggregated business data, which more closely resembles a very early-stage mortgage-tech startup than a real estate investment platform managing any meaningful AUM.
For investors who bought series interests between 2022 and late 2023, this pivot matters directly. Their membership interests in specific Delaware LLC series are tied to properties that Fintor Inc. is supposed to manage. Whether Fintor Inc. continues to manage those properties actively, whether distributions continue, and whether the Templum secondary market remains functional are all questions that the company's public record does not answer.
Risks You Should Name Before You Consider Any Fractional Platform
Fintor's arc illustrates a risk that exists for every fractional real estate platform, regardless of size: platform risk, meaning the possibility that the company operating the series stops operating its original product. Traditional real estate investment trusts (REITs) are listed securities with independent boards and regulatory requirements that survive management changes. A series LLC operated by a startup does not carry those structural protections. If the manager stops managing, the property does not automatically run itself.
Every investment in alternative real estate structures also carries the underlying property risks: vacancy, tenant default, property value declines, and rising interest rates reducing exit valuations. The Regulation A structure does not make those risks smaller. It makes the securities more accessible. Those are different things.
I would not recommend new capital into Fintor's fractional real estate product in any form given the offering withdrawal and the company's apparent shift away from the product. If you already hold series interests, contact Fintor directly at support@fintor.com to confirm the operational status of your specific series. Do not assume the withdrawal resolved anything for existing holders. It closed the door on new investors while leaving existing series in place under management whose current focus is unclear.
For investors who want fractional single-family rental exposure, Arrived and Ark7 both have verifiable histories of completing full property cycles, meaning they have sold properties, distributed proceeds, and closed out positions for investors. Neither platform is without risk and neither guarantees liquidity on demand. Both carry significantly more public track record than Fintor had accumulated before withdrawing its offering.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was Fintor open to non-accredited investors?
Yes. Fintor's original offering ran under Regulation A, Tier 2, which allows non-accredited investors to participate up to 10% of the greater of their annual income or net worth per offering. The company formally withdrew that offering from the SEC on December 1, 2023, and no subsequent active public offering appears in EDGAR records as of this writing.
What fees did Fintor charge investors?
Fintor's September 2022 SEC offering circular disclosed three cost layers: a 1% brokerage commission to Dalmore Group LLC on primary purchases, a 1% annual asset management fee charged on capital contributions per series, and an operating reserve of up to 5% of gross proceeds per series to cover property management fees, asset management fees, and maintenance expenses. The specific property management fee rate paid to third-party managers was not published as a single consolidated percentage in available filings.
Is there a way to sell Fintor shares now?
Secondary trading was available through Templum Markets LLC, an SEC-registered Alternative Trading System. No public disclosure confirms that active buyer-seller matching currently occurs on that ATS for Fintor series interests, and Fintor's offering documents warned from the start that a liquid secondary market might never materialize. Existing holders should contact Fintor directly to ask about the current status of secondary trading before assuming any exit path exists.
Has Fintor ever sold a property and returned capital to investors?
No completed property exits appear in any SEC filing, press release, or independent press coverage reviewed for this article. The five property series described in the September 2022 offering circular targeted combined maximum offering sizes of approximately $1.06M, and no subsequent disclosure of a completed sale, property disposition, or investor distribution has been found in any public record.
Author Disclosure: Jeff Barnes, MBA has no personal position in any company, fund, or platform named in this article. Angel Investors Network has no current commercial relationship with any party mentioned. AIN provides marketing and education services, not investment advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. All investments involve risk, including loss of principal.
Topics
Part of Guide
Looking for investors?
Browse our directory of 750+ angel investor groups, VCs, and accelerators across the United States.
About the Author
Jeff Barnes, MBA
Continue Reading

PeerRealty Review 2026: What Happened to This Real Estate Crowdfunding Platform?

Harvest Returns Review 2026: Farmland Investing Platform for Accredited Investors

RealtyMogul Review 2026: New Owner, Falling NAV, Frozen Redemptions

Groundfloor Review 2026: Real Estate Debt Investing Without Accreditation

Pacific Private Money's $80 Million Collapse: The Debt Fund Red Flags Investors Missed
