What a Form D Really Tells You: A $1.14 Billion Case Study
On September 8, 2026, Arrow Credit Opportunities III SCSp, SICAV-RAIF filed a Form D/A with the Securities and Exchange Commission reporting $1,306,105,700 sold to 25 investors. The filing discloses i

Key Takeaways
- Arrow Credit Opportunities III's disclosed EUR/USD rate of 1.1422 reverses the reported $1,306,105,700 to exactly €1,143,500,000, confirming the fund tracks its raise in euros, not dollars.
- The September 8, 2026 amendment is routine annual compliance. All three vehicles began selling on September 9, 2025, one full year before this filing appeared on EDGAR.
- Form D does not disclose target fund size, whether the offering is still open, whether the number is drawn capital or total commitments, or any investor identity or type.
- Four years of silence from the ACO II vintage does not confirm failure. When an offering terminates, no further amendments are required, so silence can mean a clean close rather than a collapse.
Three Vehicles, One Capital Pool
Arrow Credit Opportunities III is organized as a master-feeder structure, a common architecture in cross-border private credit funds. The master fund, Arrow Credit Opportunities III SCSp, SICAV-RAIF, is a Luxembourg vehicle. A SICAV-RAIF (Société d'Investissement à Capital Variable-Reserved Alternative Investment Fund) is a regulated alternative investment fund structure frequently used by European managers targeting institutional capital. Its registered address is 26 Boulevard Royal, L-2449 Luxembourg, and it was incorporated in 2025.
Two feeder vehicles channel investor capital into the master. The USD Feeder targets dollar-denominated investors. The Corporate Feeder likely serves a separate investor group with distinct tax or legal requirements. All three filed amendments with the SEC on the same date, and all three list Rule 506(b) as the claimed exemption alongside Investment Company Act exclusions 3(c)(1) and 3(c)(7). Those exclusions mean the fund serves qualified purchasers and sophisticated institutional investors, not retail accounts.
The master filing names five related persons: Marion Broch, James Culshaw, Charlotte Gilbert, Clarissa Steland, and Revel Wood. Form D requires listing executives and related parties as of the filing date. Their compensation and management fee terms are, per the filing, "disclosed in the Issuer's confidential offering materials" and are not visible in the SEC record.
| Vehicle | Accession Number | Reported Sold (USD) | Investors | First Sale |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master: Arrow Credit Opportunities III SCSp, SICAV-RAIF | 0002074974-26-000001 | $1,306,105,700 (= €1,143,500,000) | 25 | Sep 9, 2025 |
| USD Feeder: Arrow Credit Opportunities III USD Feeder SCSp | 0002074970-26-000001 | $506,750,000 | 19 | Sep 9, 2025 |
| Corporate Feeder: Arrow Credit Opportunities III Corporate Feeder SCSp | 0002074386-26-000001 | $382,500,000 | 21 | Sep 9, 2025 |
Do not add those three dollar figures. Feeder vehicles typically invest their proceeds into the master fund. Under that structure, the feeders' capital is already counted among the master's 25 reported investors. Adding the three totals would double-count the same money. AltStreet Investments, which published an analysis of these filings on September 14, 2026, noted the same caution: the filings report distinct amounts but do not state whether the feeders subscribe into the master, so summing them is unreliable from the public record alone.
The Currency Clue Hiding in the Filing
Form D Item 13 asks for the total offering amount in U.S. dollars. A Luxembourg fund denominated in euros must convert. Arrow Credit Opportunities III included its conversion rate directly in the filing: 1 EUR equals 1.1422 USD.
Run that in reverse. Divide $1,306,105,700 by 1.1422 and you get €1,143,500,000 exactly. That is a round number in euros. Round figures signal intentional denomination. The fund counted its sales in euros, reached a whole number, and converted that result for the SEC form. It did not start with a dollar target.
This distinction has three practical implications. First, the euro figure is the operative number for sizing the fund. Second, the reported dollar total will shift with EUR/USD exchange rates across future filings, even if euro-denominated sales hold flat. Third, comparing this vintage to earlier Arrow Credit Opportunities vehicles becomes more reliable if you work in euros, removing six years of currency movement from the comparison.
The first Arrow Credit Opportunities vintage (2020) disclosed a rate of 1.11 USD per EUR. At that rate, its master fund's $120,650,373 converts to roughly €108,694,029, which is not a round number. That suggests either a rounded rate or a non-round underlying figure. ACO III's perfectly round euro result gives you more confidence that the conversion in this filing is faithful to the fund's actual denomination.
The step-up across vintages is also worth noting in the base currency. ACO I reported approximately €109 million from 6 investors. ACO III reports €1,143,500,000 from 25. That is roughly a 10.5x increase in reported euro sales between the two vintages that disclosed sales to the SEC. Whether that growth reflects the same strategy scaled, a broader investor base, or different deployment terms is not answerable from Form D data alone.
How Annual Amendments Actually Work
Many readers interpret a Form D/A filing date as the moment a fund disclosed its raise. That reading is almost always wrong. The SEC requires issuers conducting an ongoing Regulation D offering to file an amendment on or before the one-year anniversary of their most recent Form D. The SEC's own Form D FAQ states the rule clearly: the annual amendment is mandatory "if the offering is continuing at that time."
All three ACO III vehicles filed their initial Form D notices on September 8, 2025. Those notices reported no sales and no first-sale date yet. The funds started selling the next day, September 9, 2025. Exactly one year later, on September 8, 2026, all three filed their first amendments, updating the sold totals to reflect a full year of fundraising activity.
The 12-month gap is between filings, not between fund launch and fundraising. These funds raised capital for a full year before this filing appeared. Reading the amendment date as the fundraise date would place the activity a year later than it actually occurred.
Annual amendments are status reports, not announcements. Rule 503 of Regulation D (17 CFR 230.503) requires this periodic update while an offering remains active. A fund that continues raising for three years will file three annual amendments, each showing the cumulative sold figure at the time of filing. A fund that has not sold since its last filing will still file the annual amendment, typically with no change to the dollar total.
A compliance overview from BlueSky Comply confirms the timing standard: the annual amendment must be filed on or before the 12-month mark of the most recent filing, even if no other changes have occurred. Missing this deadline is a compliance deficiency. It is not evidence the offering closed.
Four Years of Silence from ACO II
The Arrow Credit Opportunities II vintage presents a different picture. Three ACO II vehicles filed Form D notices in 2022. Arrow Credit Opportunities II SCSp, SICAV-RAIF and its USD Feeder SCSp both filed on July 29, 2022. Arrow Credit Opportunities II Feeder A LP filed on October 3, 2022. All three reported zero dollars sold and no first-sale date. None has filed an amendment since.
Four years have passed. On the public record, ACO II has reported no sales activity. The instinct is to read that as failure or a fund that never got off the ground. That conclusion is not supported by what Form D actually measures.
If an offering terminated before its first anniversary, no subsequent amendment is required. A fund that closed quickly, returned or declined investor commitments, or was simply withdrawn would owe no further Form D filings after termination. Law firm Katten Muchin Rosenman made this point clearly in a legal alert on Form D obligations: issuers are not required to file an amendment for changes that occur after the offering terminates.
Other explanations are also possible. The vehicles may have raised capital entirely from non-U.S. investors through structures that did not require ongoing U.S. SEC maintenance. The manager may have determined the vehicles were inactive and allowed the notices to lapse. The Form D record does not distinguish between these outcomes.
What the silence cannot establish is the fund's actual performance or disposition. Private credit funds can deploy capital, earn returns, and wind down without ever updating a Form D notice. EDGAR captures what filers choose to report. It does not capture the full operational history of a fund.
Five Things to Check on Any Form D
Use this checklist before drawing conclusions from a Form D or Form D/A filing you find on EDGAR.
- Is this an original filing or an amendment? The SEC filing type "D" is the original notice. "D/A" is an amendment. Check how many amendments have been filed since the original. A first amendment showing a large jump in the sold total tells a different story than a fifth annual amendment with no change in the dollar figure. Multiple amendments over time let you reconstruct a rough fundraising timeline.
- What is the gap between "date of first sale" and the filing date? These are often separated by months or years. SEC rules give issuers 15 calendar days after the first sale to file the initial Form D. Annual amendments then reset the filing clock. The "amount sold" on any amendment reflects cumulative sales, not sales since the prior filing. Never assume the filing date and the sale activity date are the same.
- Does the filing disclose a currency conversion rate? When a fund operating in a foreign currency discloses the rate it used to convert, run the arithmetic in reverse. A round number in the original currency confirms the dollar total is a translation. Compare that round figure when sizing or benchmarking funds across vintages, not the translated dollar amount, which will drift with exchange rates.
- Are there related feeder vehicles? Search EDGAR for other Form D filings from the same manager name and fund vintage. Multiple related vehicles often share one underlying capital pool. Summing their reported totals without understanding the master/feeder relationship can significantly overstate how much distinct capital was raised. The filings rarely resolve the relationship explicitly, so treat unadjusted sums with caution.
- How long has an offering gone without an amendment? If an offering appears active but the most recent Form D is more than 12 months old, that is a yellow flag. It could mean the offering terminated, which removes the amendment obligation. It could also mean the issuer missed a required filing. Neither interpretation requires assuming the fund failed, but both warrant a direct conversation with the manager rather than a conclusion drawn from public records alone.
For more on this, see our related coverage:
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a Form D/A filing mean a fund has finished raising capital?
No. A Form D/A is an amendment that updates a previously filed notice. It does not state whether the offering is open or closed, what the target fund size is, or whether a final close has occurred. The offering amount field for all three ACO III vehicles reads "indefinite," meaning no public target has been stated. A final-close announcement from the manager carries information a Form D cannot.
Can I add the master fund's total to the feeder fund totals to get the combined raise?
Almost certainly not without additional information. In a standard master/feeder structure, feeder investors commit capital to the feeder, which then subscribes into the master as an investor. Adding the master total to the feeder totals in that scenario counts the same capital twice. The ACO III filings do not state the exact subscription relationship, so summing the three figures is unreliable from public records alone.
What does it mean when a Form D shows the minimum investment as "none stated"?
It means the issuer chose not to disclose a minimum in the public filing. It does not mean there is no minimum. Minimum investment thresholds, along with management fees and carried interest terms, are typically disclosed in the confidential offering memorandum provided only to qualified investors. The ACO III master filing states that fee and carry details are in the issuer's confidential offering materials, not the SEC record.
Is the "amount sold" in Form D the same as drawn capital?
Not necessarily, and Form D has no field to specify which it is. Private credit funds often take investor commitments and call capital over time as they make loans. A fund could report $1 billion sold while having called only a fraction of that amount into actual investments. To distinguish committed capital from deployed capital, you need the manager's investor reports, audited financial statements, or direct disclosure, none of which appear on EDGAR.
Author Disclosure: Jeff Barnes, MBA has no personal position in any company, fund, or platform named in this article. Angel Investors Network has no current commercial relationship with any party mentioned. AIN provides marketing and education services, not investment advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. All investments involve risk, including loss of principal.
Looking for investors?
Browse our directory of 750+ angel investor groups, VCs, and accelerators across the United States.
About the Author
Jeff Barnes, MBA
Continue Reading

Access Via Your Adviser Is Not Access on Your Own Terms: The SEC Private Markets Proposal Explained

Qualified Purchaser vs Accredited Investor: What a New SEC Rule Reveals

FINRA Rule 5123 Expanded: What the New Family Office Exemption Means for Private Placement Compliance

The SEC's $80 Million Pacific Fund Case: Seven Red Flags Every Accredited Investor Should Know

IRS Proposes New Information-Reporting Rules for Qualified Opportunity Zone Funds
