Databricks Filed a $5 Billion Form D. Here Is What It Actually Tells You.

    On August 27, 2026, Databricks filed an SEC Form D disclosing a $5 billion exempt equity offering under Rule 506(c), with $4,999,997,255 already sold to...

    ByJeff Barnes, MBA
    ·9 min read
    Reviewed by Jeff Barnes — CEO of Angel Investors Network · MBA · $1B+ in Capital Formation
    Databricks Filed a $5 Billion Form D. Here Is What It Actually Tells You.
    On August 27, 2026, Databricks filed an SEC Form D disclosing a $5 billion exempt equity offering under Rule 506(c), with $4,999,997,255 already sold to 136 investors and only $2,745 unsold at the time of filing. The deal closed at a reported $190 billion valuation according to CNBC, though the Form D itself discloses none of that: no share price, no valuation, no purchaser names, and no stated use of proceeds. Understanding what the filing actually says, and what it deliberately omits, tells you more about how mega-private-rounds work in 2026 than the headline number does.

    Key Takeaways

    • Databricks disclosed selling $4,999,997,255 of equity to 136 investors between August 12 and August 27, 2026, under a Rule 506(c) exempt offering, with CFO David Conte signing the notice.
    • Rule 506(c) permits broad advertising and general solicitation of investors, unlike Rule 506(b), but requires the issuer to take documented, reasonable steps to verify that every purchaser is an accredited investor.
    • Form D is a notice of exemption, not a registration statement. It does not disclose share price, valuation, purchaser identities, use of proceeds, or ownership percentages issued.
    • A round that reaches 99.999945% sold in 15 days signals excess demand, not a stretched company. Databricks originally planned to raise $1 billion; investors pushed the total to $5 billion.

    What the Filing Actually Says

    The SEC Form D that Databricks filed on August 27, 2026, is a two-page notice, not a prospectus. Under the SEC's own Form D guidance, the document exists to notify regulators that a company has conducted or is conducting an exempt securities offering. It is not a disclosure document in the way a registration statement is. It confirms the fact of the offering, its size, the exemption claimed, and a handful of administrative data points.

    Here is exactly what the Databricks filing confirms:

    • Total offering amount: $5,000,000,000
    • Amount sold: $4,999,997,255
    • Remaining unsold: $2,745
    • Number of investors: 136
    • Security type: equity
    • Exemption claimed: Rule 506(c)
    • Date of first sale: August 12, 2026
    • Filing date: August 27, 2026
    • Signer: CFO David Conte
    • Sales commissions or finder's fees: none listed
    • Minimum investment accepted from outside investors: $0

    That is the full scope of what the filing confirms. The Form D does not disclose a share price, per-share valuation, how much of the company the 136 investors received, who those investors are, or what Databricks plans to do with the capital. Those omissions are not evasion. They are what the law requires, and nothing more.

    The filing also carries a standard disclaimer: the SEC has not necessarily reviewed the information and has not determined whether it is accurate and complete. A Form D is a company-submitted record. The SEC does not pre-approve or verify it before it becomes public on EDGAR, where the Databricks filing is publicly searchable.

    Rule 506(c) vs. Rule 506(b): The Distinction That Matters

    Databricks chose Rule 506(c), and that choice tells you something useful about how the deal was structured. Both 506(b) and 506(c) are exemptions under Regulation D that allow a company to raise unlimited capital from accredited investors without registering the securities with the SEC. The critical difference is whether the company can publicly market the offering.

    Under Rule 506(b), the company cannot use general solicitation. That means no press releases about the fundraise, no broad advertising, and no approaching investors outside a preexisting relationship. In exchange, 506(b) allows up to 35 non-accredited but "sophisticated" investors to participate, and the company can rely on a more flexible "reasonable belief" standard when assessing whether an investor qualifies as accredited.

    Under Rule 506(c), the company can publicly advertise, issue press releases, and approach a broad set of potential investors before the deal closes. The tradeoff: every purchaser must be an accredited investor, and the company must take "reasonable steps to verify" that status, not merely hold a reasonable belief. That verification standard typically means reviewing tax returns, brokerage statements, income documentation, or obtaining written confirmation from a registered broker-dealer, investment adviser, licensed attorney, or CPA. Self-certification alone, where an investor simply checks a box, does not satisfy the 506(c) standard according to SEC guidance on accredited investor verification.

    For a $5 billion round with 136 institutional investors, the 506(c) choice likely reflects how Databricks ran the process: through outreach that could be more broadly conducted, and with a set of counterparties sophisticated enough to clear documentation-based verification without friction.

    It is worth noting that Databricks filed a second Form D on the same day, August 27, under Rule 506(b), disclosing $241,204,249 in additional equity sold. That parallel 506(b) filing suggests the company ran two concurrent offerings: one through general solicitation with strict verification for the main $5 billion tranche, and a second, smaller tranche raised through private relationship-based channels without general solicitation. Running both structures simultaneously is legal and occasionally used by companies seeking to reach different pools of capital under each exemption's distinct rules. The SEC's filing records confirm both notices exist independently on EDGAR with separate accession numbers. For outside readers, that dual-filing structure is easy to miss when a single headline figure dominates coverage.

    The 15-Day Rule and What Near-Zero Unsold Inventory Signals

    Companies must file Form D within 15 calendar days of the first sale. Databricks' first sale occurred on August 12; the filing landed on August 27, right at the deadline. That timing is unremarkable. What is not unremarkable is that $4,999,997,255 of the $5 billion had already been placed with investors by the time the notice went public.

    The $2,745 left unsold is not a rounding artifact. It is a real data point that tells you the offering was essentially fully subscribed within a very short window after that August 12 first sale date. TechCrunch reported that Databricks originally planned to raise approximately $1 billion, but inbound investor demand pushed the round to $5 billion, with some investors reportedly seeking to place as much as $15 billion total. The company capped the raise at $5 billion.

    For an accredited investor analyzing the signal value of this filing, that near-zero unsold amount is worth more than the headline dollar figure. It means Databricks did not need to hunt for capital. Buyers competed for access. That is a specific and verifiable market condition, separate from any valuation claim.

    What the Valuation Context Shows

    The Form D itself is silent on valuation, but other public sources are not. CNBC reported the round closed at a $190 billion valuation. That represents a 42% increase from the $134 billion valuation Databricks carried six months earlier in February 2026. The December 2024 Series J, announced via Databricks' official press release, placed the company at a $62 billion valuation. The trajectory from $62 billion to $190 billion in roughly 20 months reflects two things: genuine revenue growth, and an AI infrastructure premium that private markets have been willing to price in without a public listing to discipline the number.

    Databricks has publicly reported surpassing a $7 billion annualized revenue run rate, with year-over-year growth exceeding 80% as of mid-2026. More than 1,000 customers generate over $1 million in annual revenue run rate. Those are auditable business metrics. The $190 billion valuation is a private-market price agreed between willing buyers and a single seller. It is not a price discovered through public trading volume. As an accredited investor, you should hold those two things separately in your analysis.

    My Take: What a $5 Billion, 15-Day Fill Tells You About AI Infrastructure Capital in 2026

    I want to be direct about what this filing means and does not mean for anyone watching the private market for AI infrastructure.

    The speed of this fill is a real signal. A $5 billion equity offering across 136 institutional investors, closing in roughly 15 days, with only $2,745 unsold, is not a normal financing event even by recent standards. The $10 billion Series J in late 2024 was described as "substantially oversubscribed." This round was reportedly capped far below what investors wanted to place. That consistent pattern of excess demand across multiple Databricks rounds says something about how capital allocators in 2026 view AI data infrastructure exposure: they are willing to accept terms set entirely by the issuer, with minimal negotiating power, to get into the deal at all.

    That is worth understanding carefully. In a buyer's market, investors set terms. In a seller's market, issuers do. Databricks is operating in a seller's market. The 136 investors who bought into this round accepted whatever share price and ownership percentage Databricks offered, on a timeline Databricks chose, documented through a form that disclosed none of those economics publicly. That is the current state of late-stage AI private financing.

    That said, the Form D is not a green light on the investment thesis. It confirms that sophisticated institutional capital wanted in. Institutional capital is not always right, and even verified accredited investors can overpay for a compelling story. The $190 billion valuation is 25 to 27 times Databricks' current revenue run rate, which is an aggressive multiple even for a company growing at 80% annually. Future rounds, an IPO, or an acquisition event will eventually set a public price. Until then, you are reading a notice document and press-reported valuations, not audited financial statements or SEC-reviewed disclosures.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does the Form D confirm that Databricks raised money at a $190 billion valuation?

    No. The Form D confirms the total amount sold ($4,999,997,255), the number of investors (136), and the exemption used (Rule 506(c)). It does not disclose a share price, per-unit value, or company valuation. The $190 billion figure comes from press reports, including CNBC's coverage published August 13, 2026, citing information from the company. The SEC filing and the valuation figure are separate sources that must be evaluated separately.

    What does Rule 506(c) require that Rule 506(b) does not?

    Rule 506(c) allows the issuer to publicly advertise and generally solicit investors, which Rule 506(b) prohibits. In exchange for that flexibility, 506(c) requires every purchaser to be an accredited investor and requires the issuer to take documented, reasonable steps to actually verify that status, such as reviewing income tax forms, brokerage statements, or obtaining written confirmation from a licensed professional. Rule 506(b) applies a less demanding "reasonable belief" standard and allows up to 35 non-accredited sophisticated investors to participate.

    Why does Form D not disclose the share price or who the 136 investors are?

    Form D is a notice of exemption, not a registration statement. The SEC designed it to confirm that a private offering occurred and that the company claimed a valid exemption from registration. Congress and the SEC have not required private companies to publicly disclose purchaser identities, share prices, or ownership details in a Form D, because those companies have not chosen to access the public markets. The purchaser identities, deal economics, and use of proceeds remain private unless the company voluntarily discloses them or a subsequent regulatory filing requires it.

    Is the Form D data verified by the SEC before it becomes public?

    No. The filing itself states that the SEC has not necessarily reviewed the information and has not determined whether it is accurate and complete. The issuer submits the Form D, and it becomes publicly available on EDGAR. The SEC may later review filings for compliance, and consequences exist for late or inaccurate filings under Rule 507, but there is no pre-publication review or approval process analogous to what happens with registered public offerings.

    Author Disclosure: Jeff Barnes, MBA has no personal position in any company, fund, or platform named in this article. Angel Investors Network has no current commercial relationship with any party mentioned. AIN provides marketing and education services, not investment advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results. All investments involve risk, including loss of principal.

    Looking for investors?

    Browse our directory of 750+ angel investor groups, VCs, and accelerators across the United States.

    Share
    J

    About the Author

    Jeff Barnes, MBA